Getting to Know You

  • What is your name and what job do you do at the Centre?

Kim Langbridge – I am a volunteer Instructor/Coach on a Tuesday morning and work part time on the staff as RDA Coordinator, managing the RDA ride schedule and rider waiting list ensuring that we offer as many riding opportunities as we can

  • How long have you worked at the Centre and what made you want to work here?

I started volunteering (as an arena helper) in 2004 when my eldest child began nursery school and whilst I was on a career break from the MOD. I had ridden on and off since a teenager, didn’t currently have a horse but wanted to use my skills and put something back to the community.

  • What sort of horse experience do you have?

I had owned a couple of horses and ridden for leisure, before joining an Army Saddle Club in Kent where I started taking some BHS exams (Stage 1 , 2 and Riding and Road Safety), but I didn’t like jumping and was not very competitive and stopped studying in my mid 30s.

  • What do you do when you aren’t working at the Centre?

I have two daughters (aged 8 and 13) and a husband who works away during the week and so I spend lots of time being a taxi driver to the girls. I am Vice Chair of the PTA at my daughter’s Primary School, organising, planning and delivering  several fundraising events during the year. I am also part of my Church Choir, singing alto.

  • Who do you admire?

Mary King – she rose from such humble beginnings to become a world class eventer, she is always smiling and is my age!

  • What’s your hidden talent?

I make a mean sponge cake using a recipe that I have had since I was a teenager!

  • Who would play you in the film version of your life, and what would it be called?

A young Julie Andrews or Elizabeth Taylor. ‘Age is only a number!’

Leave a comment